The AA box is a unique survivor of Britain's motoring heritage. After the formation of the AA in 1905 the first boxes were erected in 1911. Telephones were installed at a later date. The Eardisland box stood at Legions Cross at the junction of the B4529 with the A44, from about 1925 until the 1950s when all pre-war boxes were replaced.
The Eardisland box is the only known surviving example of the pre-war type of box and was rescued by the local AA man Harry Gittoes, who had stored it in his garden until it's rescue and renovation in 2000.
An exhibition about England's motoring heritage is on display in the Dovecote.